Jackson County Chamber of Commerce

800- 962-1911

Visit Website

Email Organization


773 West Main Street, Sylva, NC 28779

Products and Services:

  • Support and Promote Small Businesses
  • Networking
  • Business After Hours
  • Education


The Jackson County Chamber of Commerce is committed to improving the quality of life and welfare of the citizens of Jackson County by promoting a prosperous and diverse business community that compliments the region’s natural beauty, through an engaged and active Center providing exemplary guest services for new residents, members, and visitors.

Jackson County is nestled among the Great Smoky Mountains, and features a nice balance between peaceful forests and vibrant downtowns. Since we are already here, we have listed the “Top Five” reasons why you should choose Jackson County also.

Jackson County was founded in 1851. It was named for Andrew Jackson, President of the United States from 1829 to 1837. The original County Courts were held at the Dan Bryson Home in the Beta Community in Scott Creek township, and moved to Webster the following year.

In 1861 parts of Jackson County and Henderson County were combined to form Transylvania County. In 1871 parts of Jackson County and Macon County were combined to form Swain County. In 1913, Sylva became the county seat.